Univest Grand Prix – A Retrospective Look –

It has been a long time since my last race of the season, and I have had a lot (probably too much) time to chew on that and my past season. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t happy with last season, it was a great experience and I had more success than I have ever had in the past. Somehow though I always want more and am never really satisfied, some would say this is a bad thing, and people need to be content. I am not so sure. I hope this inability to settle for “good” will lead me to excellence. I don’t want to be good, I want to be excellent, and thus my disappointment with the Univest Grand Prix.
For those of you that are unfamiliar with it, it is one of the largest (formerly one day) races in the U.S. and draws team from all across the world to compete on some amazing roads around Souderton, PA. This year it was expanded into a “stage race” and an additional day with a crit due to some funky UCI rules that don’t allow stage races to have criteriums in them. Day one was a wet rain slicked technical team time trial followed the next day by an equally rainy 100 mile road race with some punchy short climbs of 28% yea, that is not a typo, 28% really.
I don’t want to write a full race report, just suffice it to say sans the TTT everything went pretty much awfully for me. I have a million excuses as to why that was the case, and some of them pretty valid. However, months later I am not satisfied with any of them. I can’t wait for next year. I will leave you with some pictures of the horrendous weather and the crash marred road race. The last one is me chasing back on after a ill timed flat, and our super pro rental KIA that was our caravan car. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Race Reports

Leave a Reply

